1300 755 052

8 standards of aged care

8 standards of aged care

8 standards of aged care

Aged care is the assistance and services given to elders, the aged, and those with disabilities who
cannot live independently. Aged care institutions strive to offer high standards of assistance and
care so that residents can have comfortable, dignified lives.

The government regulates and oversees the elderly care industry through a set of criteria to
guarantee high-quality care and assistance are offered. These requirements make a guarantee that
elderly care facilities deliver care that is secure, efficient, and sensitive to residents’ needs and

8 standards of aged care

1. Consumer dignity and choice

Consumer dignity and choice are highly valued according to the first standard of aged care. In other
words, citizens should be respected for their rights and preferences. This includes the freedom to
decide how they will be cared for and to have a voice in what kind of care they will get.

2. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers

The second need emphasizes constant evaluation and planning with customers. This means a plan
should be created to address residents’ care requirements after an ongoing assessment of those
needs. The resident’s preferences and choices should be considered when this plan is being

3. Personal care and clinical care

The third standard is concerned with clinical and personal care. This means that people ought to
receive high-quality care and assistance from qualified employees. Each resident’s specific
requirements should be met, and the care should be given securely and efficiently.

4. Services and support for daily living

The fourth standard is about daily life services and assistance. To live a whole life, people should
have access to a variety of services and supports, including aid with everyday tasks, access to leisure
activities, and access to medical and clinical care.

5. Organisation’s service environment

The fifth standard is concerned with the service environment of the organization. This implies that
inhabitants of aged care institutions should have a clean, safe, and welcoming home atmosphere.
This involves ensuring that the physical environment is kept in good condition, that residents have
enough room and privacy, and that the institution is built to fulfill their requirements.

6. Feedback and complaints

The sixth requirement is about criticism and complaints. This implies that people should be allowed
to express their opinions about the care and services they receive and that procedures for handling
complaints should be in place.

7. Human resources

The seventh requirement has to do with human resources. This implies that elderly care facilities
need a skilled and knowledgeable team and enough employees to suit the demands of the seniors.
The institution should also have procedures to monitor employee performance and guarantee that
employees are delivering top-notch care.

8. Organisational governance

Organizational governance is the subject of the eighth and final standard. As a result, the institution
for the elderly must have transparent governance procedures, a transparent management structure,
and accountability. This contributes to the successful management of the institution and the
provision of high-quality care for the inhabitants.

Benefits of aged care standards

Adherence to the standards for elderly care results in various positive outcomes for residents and
the aged care sector. When it comes to the residents, the standards guarantee that they will receive
high-quality care and assistance that is reliable, efficient, and sensitive to their requirements and
preferences. The guidelines also ensure that residents’ rights and dignity are protected, allowing
them to have a say in the care they get.

The standards encourage a culture of excellence and accountability within the elderly care business
and contribute to improving the overall quality of care offered. In addition, the standards serve as a

baseline for ongoing improvement, which enables institutions to work towards providing the highest
possible level of care for residents.


What is the purpose of the 8 standards of aged care?

The 8 Standards for the care of the elderly are designed to guarantee that the elderly are treated with respect and dignity and that their rights and interests are protected when receiving care in an
aged care facility.

How do the standards promote consumer dignity and choice in aged care?

The standards ensure that residents have a voice in their care, are treated with respect and
dignity, and are given the information they need to make educated decisions about their care to
promote consumer dignity and choice in the aging care sector.

What are the benefits of following the 8 standards of aged care for consumers and care providers?

Consumer care quality is increased, consumer rights and dignity are protected, and care providers
gain from a culture of excellence and responsibility when they adhere to the 8 standards of aged
care. The guidelines also encourage ongoing development and provide a yardstick for assessing the
caliber of treatment.